The Eve Before Graduation; Senior Awards and Baccalaureate

On the eve of graduation, New Hampton School celebrated the Class of 2017 with a Senior Awards Ceremony followed by an intimate Baccalaureate gathering for the Class of 2017 and their families. The evening commenced with Senior Awards, where exceptional students were recognized for making significant contributions to specific areas of the School.

The evening included a dinner for the Class of 2017, faculty, and guests. A highlight of the evening was "Greens for Graduation". Earlier this spring, the students and faculty planted greens, from seed, in the New Hampton School greenhouse. The greens were harvested and served at the dinner, a unique way for the school community to honor the graduating class.
Baccalaureate was held in McEvoy Theater with the Class of 2017, their families, and faculty. Four students were elected to speak on behalf of their class; Fran Finali (New York, NY), Maggie Purcell (Gilford, NH), Anthony Gaines (Kingston, NY) and Jennifer Okewunmi (Houston, TX). Several students performed musical selections as part of the evening program.
The graduating class elected Eric Przepiorka, Math Faculty, and Assistant Men's Varsity Hockey Coach, to address the class. Przepiorka encouraged the Class of 2017 to "try new things, challenge yourself, and be open to new experiences [as] they may become something you love to do." Reflecting on his own journey that led him to where he is today, a place he would never have guessed he would land 5 years earlier, Przepiorka advised: "don't be afraid of failure, believe in yourself, persevere because you never know where life will take you."

Congratulations to the following Seniors recognized for their outstanding contributions to their class and New Hampton School.

Ralph S. O’Connor Excellence in Teaching Prize
Meredith Brown
Cum Laude Society
Barbara Duncan
Arina Kazakova
Dennis (DJ) Leary
Samantha Schamberger
Presidential Service Award
Chloe Davis
Torre Davy
Kacenka Farr-Williams
Ntwali Karibushi
Arina Kazakova
Jennifer Okewunmi
Cierra San Roman
Zixiong Wang
Visual Arts Award
HuiYan Hao
Performing Arts Award
Torre Davy
English Department Award
Torre Davy
World Language Department Award
Brighid Martin
History Department Award
Barbara Duncan
Mathematics Department Award
Xiaochen (Anthony) Han
Science Department Award
Dennis Leary
Joe Plaia Male Athlete
Christian Thomas
Joa Plaia Female Athlete
Cayla Barnes
Golden-Tilton Post-Graduate Award
Peter Blust
Go Back
No comments have been posted
An independent, college preparatory school for boarding and day students, grades 9-12 and postgraduate.
© Copyright 2016
New Hampton School
70 Main St., New Hampton, NH, 03256 (603)-677-3400